I’m a Country Boy.

Howdie.

farmerasmen_001Just kidding, I never, ever, ever, say Howdie. In fact, I use it so un-often, that I spelled it wrong. It’s Howdy. Anywho, this post is a little bit about the contrast of my life right now. If you’ve read my earlier posts, you would know that I am a student who attends an arts college in the big city of Chicago, Illinois. However, what you don’t know is that my permanent home, the home that I live at all summer and have lived in since kindergarten, is in the middle of nowhere at the intersection of “never-heard-of-it” and “you-mean-that’s-a-real-place?”. Actually, whenever I would talk about my home town, I would actually refer to the closest town to mine, which is 45 minutes south. In case you are slow and haven’t caught on yet, I live in a small town, nobody has heard of it, nobody will ever visit here on spring break, and everyone knows everyone and their grandparents.

Just another bit of info to help you put into perspective how small my town is; my graduating class was 70 people, and I knew all of my classmate’s by first middle and last name, their address, and what their parent’s names were. We weren’t all friends, heck I had a bunch of enemies that I am glad to say I will never talk to again, but we were all close because we shared the small town lifestyle. Now, as if a small town wasn’t bad enough, my town was actually a small “farmer” town. We even had a drive your tractor to school day, which I never participated in because I was to cool for that. Spring and Fall were the busiest times back at home, and if  you wanted a clean car than you best find another place to live because during this time, every field was occupied by a dust and dirt throwing tractor planting or harvesting the crops. Night time is spent with the headlights on full blast, and a poor deer or raccoon loses their life each and every evening. Car repair shops are popular because people break their cars, not by getting in wrecks, but by getting wrecked (drunk,smashed, intoxicated, etc.) and going out and being a complete dumbass. I was always the outcast in my town. From an early age, I had an interest in art, and instead of joining every sports team like my guy classmates, I stayed after school to finish my painting in hopes that it would get sent to the art show. I loved choir and band and faked getting sick to avoid P.E. When I turned 16, my grandfather gave me my grandmother’s 2004 Cadillac CTS because it had been sitting in the garage for two years. So while my classmates were getting 4-wheel-drive double cab trucks and trailers, I was driving around in a Cadillac.  I went hunting one night with a buddy of mine, and when he was about to shoot a deer I had to close my eyes because I didn’t want to see it die. I actually pretended to sneeze so the deer would run off. I wasn’t invited to go hunting again.

I am far from a farmer. I hate dirt, I hate doing all the hard work that comes with being one, but I do love the lifestyle. I guess you could say this is a continuation of my guilty pleasures post, because I can’t get enough of late night bonfires, mudding in a field, flying down gravel roads in the bed of a truck, and sitting with my dad by the river with a line in the water and a beer in my hand. My favorite time of the year is the summer time, because my country throws a huge fair with concerts, and deep fried food, and animal shows, and so much more. It is always a blast. I will admit, during this time, I do wear a cowboy hat and boots and walk around like I’m the biggest redneck in the world. My wardrobe consists of cut off tee shirts, dirty blue jeans, boots, and a cowboy hat, and I love it. Of course, during any other time I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing that. I don’t know, I can’t explain it, I just love the lifestyle that comes with living in a small town.

So, if I loved the small town life so much, why would I go to Chicago for school? I decided I wanted to go to Chicago because I needed to get out of this small town and see the world (which is the plot-line of every country movie based in a small town if you think about it).  I needed to experience things, meet new breeds of people, and live a little bit. I do love Chicago, and I already can’t wait to go back, but I’m going to enjoy my middle of nowhere countryville. Someone told me today, that Chicago and the Country had the same amount of lights, so no matter where I was I could always enjoy the lights. When I asked what they were talking about, they said “You can’t see the stars in Chicago. And you can’t see the city lights in the Country.”

Song of the Day (My little bit of country with my little bit of city-music) – Cruise by Florida Georgia Line ft. Nelly

Skin – B I R D Y

Cowboy Hat- Rider’s Straw Cowboy Hat

Hair – Burley – Gosling

Shirt – <Kal Rau>

Grass –  Grass by Capo Freenote

One thought on “I’m a Country Boy.

  1. I think it’s great to have a bit of both, country and city life. You can’t beat the shopping and the excitement of the fast lifestyle and nightlife the cities bring. But there is nothing quite like going back home to the quiet and the slow easy lazy way of life that brings comfort and memories ❤

Leave a Reply

